Customer Sport Teams give Mercedes-AMG GT3 its maiden outing in competition

Affalterbach (GER). For Mercedes-AMG, the Dubai 24-hour race (14-16 January) marks the start of a new era: the endurance race close to the metropolis in the desert is the first time for AMG Customer Sport Teams to run the newly-developed Mercedes-AMG GT3. In total, last year’s race winners Black Falcon and British team RAM Racing have entered three of the brand-new cars. With eight further SLS AMG GT3s, fans can look forward to an impressive AMG line-up for the race in the desert.  

With the first competitive outing of the Mercedes-AMG GT3 by AMG Customer Sport Teams, an extensive phase of testing and development is coming to an end. Following the car’s world debut at an exhibition in March, 2015, the first tests in competitive conditions were carried out at the occasion of the VLN endurance championship. After successful outings on the Nürburgring-Nordschleife and an extensive 30-hour-test at Portimão, the car now has to prove its potential in the demanding conditions of the 24-hour race in the Dubai desert.

With Black Falcon and RAM Racing, two of the most successful AMG Customer Sport Teams are responsible for running the new Mercedes-AMG GT3. Since 2012, Black Falcon has won the Dubai 24 Hours on three occasions. RAM Racing came second overall with the SLS AMG GT3 last year and won the GT3 class teams’ title in the 24H Series. In the upcoming weeks and months, further Mercedes-AMG GT3 will be delivered to AMG Customer Sport Teams for competitions all over the world. Based on the great demand for the new car, production capacity was significantly increased.

Additionally, a total of eight SLS AMG GT3s will also be on the grid in Dubai. AMG Customer Sport Teams Gravity Racing International, Hofor-Racing, V8 Racing, Preci-Spark, SPS automotive-performance, IDEC Sport Racing and GDL Racing are running one gullwing each. Next to its pair of Mercedes-AMG GT3s, Black Falcon is also running an SLS AMG GT3. AMG Customer Sport Teams will also be scoring points for the AMG Customer Sports Championship in Dubai. The internal championship, held for the second time in 2016, rewards the most successful AMG Customer Sport Teams and drivers.
The 24-hour race in Dubai gets underway on Friday, 15 January, at 14.00 hrs (local time). Live streaming and live timing are available on the organiser’s website (

Tobias Moers, Chairman of the Board of Management of Mercedes-AMG GmbH: “We are delighted that we can hand over the first Mercedes-AMG GT3s to our customer teams after an intense and successful time of testing and development. We are certain that our new car will enable the teams to build on the great achievements of the SLS AMG GT3. For us, the Dubai 24-hour race is the first benchmark for the new racing season.”

Jochen Bitzer, Head of AMG Customer Sports: “We wish all the AMG Customer Sport Teams a good start into the new season. For us, the Dubai 24 Hours always have been a highlight at the start of the new year in the past couple of years. With three Mercedes-AMG GT3s and eight SLS AMG GT3s, we have a very strong line-up in Dubai. Moreover, we are delighted to welcome a new AMG Customer Sports Team with IDEC Sport Racing.”

The AMG Customer Sport Teams at a glance:

#2 Abu Dhabi Racing Black Falcon / Mercedes-AMG GT3 (Khaled Al Qubaisi, Hubert Haupt, Jeroen Bleekemolen, Indy Dontje, Maro Engel)

#3 Black Falcon / Mercedes-AMG GT3 (Abdulaziz Al Faisal, Hubert Haupt, Michal Broniszewski, Yelmer Buurman, Bernd Schneider)

#6 Gravity Racing International / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Vincent Radermecker, Eric Lux, Gerard Lopez, Christian Kelders)

#10 Hofor-Racing / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Christiaan Frankenhout, Michael Kroll, Chantal Kroll, Roland Eggimann, Kenneth Heyer)

#16 Black Falcon / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Oliver Morley, Patrick Assenheimer, Oliver Webb, Adam Christodoulou)

#17 IDEC Sport Racing / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Frederic Yerly, Patrice Lafargue, Paul Lafargue, Gabriel Abergel)

#18 V8 Racing / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Duncan Huisman, Pu JunJin, Nick de Bruijn, Luc Braams, Max Braams)

#22 Preci-Spark / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (David Jones, Godfrey Jones, Morgan Jones, Philip Jones, Gareth Jones)

#27 SPS automotive-performance / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Valentin Pierburg, Lance-David Arnold, Tim Müller, Alex Müller)

#30 RAM Racing / Mercedes-AMG GT3 (Tom Onslow-Cole, Paul White, Roald Goethe, Stuart Hall, Thomas Jäger)

#67 GDL Racing / Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Ivo Breukers, Rik Breukers, Jan Klaasen, Renger van der Zande)

More information about Mercedes-AMG may be found at



Raghad Tayeh
Media and PR Senior Executive
Direct: +971 (0)4 80 75 334
[email protected]

Mutaz Albadri
Account Director
Mojo PR
Mob: +971 (0)50 570 6785
[email protected]

Further information from Mercedes-Benz is available online at: